Nagas & NaginisThis is a featured page

The NaginisQuite briefly, they are the serpent-people of India. The male are known as Nagas while the female are called Naginis. They resemble humans from the waist up, and snakes from the waist down. Sometimes they have multiple heads and vary in colour. Also, at times Nagas are depicted as limbless and having a cobra-like frill.

The four classes of Naga are as follows: Heavenly; Divine; Earthly and Hidden. All Nagas / Naginis are characterised by their various functions (guarding the heavenly palace; giving rainfall; draining rivers or guarding rivers - respectively). It is said that they will eventually destroy the world with fire.

In Burma, Nagas are part serpent, part dragon and part crocodile. They give rubies to those they favor and protect many royal people. In Indonesia, Thailand, and Malaysia, however, Nagas are giant black Water-Snakes or multiheaded Sea-Dragons that terrorize fishermen. Their images are often used as temple guardians.

The name has been applied to the Indian cobra, Naja naja.

See also Lamia

Latest page update: made by Ravenite , Apr 9 2008, 12:26 AM EDT (about this update About This Update Ravenite Edited by Ravenite

2 words added
1 word deleted

view changes

- complete history)
Keyword tags: India serpent Snake
More Info: links to this page
There are no threads for this page.  Be the first to start a new thread.

Related Content

  (what's this?Related ContentThanks to keyword tags, links to related pages and threads are added to the bottom of your pages. Up to 15 links are shown, determined by matching tags and by how recently the content was updated; keeping the most current at the top. Share your feedback on WikiFoundry Central.)